Advancing health through science, education and medicine

2014-15 Board of Trustees

View a listing of past ACSM Leaders.


Carol Ewing Garber, Ph.D., FACSM
Teachers College

      Lawrence Armstrong,  Ph.D., FACSM
      University of Connecticut

Immediate Past President
William Dexter, M.D., FACSM
Maine Medical Center


Second Past-President
Janet Walberg Rankin, Ph.D., FACSM, Virginia Tech University

First Vice Presidents
Mark Hutchinson, M.D., FACSM, University of Illinois at Chicago
Carrie Jaworski, M.D., FACSM, NorthShore University

Second Vice Presidents
NiCole Keith, Ph.D., FACSM, Indiana University-Purdue University
Walter Thompson, Ph.D., FACSM, Georgia State University

Carl Foster, Ph.D., FACSM, University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse

ACSM Foundation President
James Pivarnik, Ph.D., FACSM, Michigan State University

Erik Adams, M.D., Ph.D., FACSM, Midwest Sports Medicine Institute
David Buchner, M.D., M.P.H., FACSM, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Douglas Casa, Ph.D., University of Connecticut
Nancy Clark, M.S., R.D., C.S.S.D., FACSM, Sports Nutrition
Nailah Coleman, M.D., FACSM, Children's National Medical Center
Irene Davis, Ph.D., FACSM, Spaulding National Running Center
Jonathan Ehrman, Ph.D., FACSM, Henry Ford Hospital
David Ferguson, Ph.D., Student Representative, Baylor College of Medicine
Judith Flohr, Ph.D., FACSM, Chapter Trustee, James Madison University
Andrew Gregory, M.D., FACSM, Vanderbilt Sports Medicine Center
Kevin Guskiewicz, Ph.D., FACSM, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mark Hargreaves, Ph.D., International Trustee, The University of Melbourne
Michael Hogan, Ph.D., University of California/San Diego
John Jakicic, Ph.D., FACSM, University of Pittsburgh
Wendy Kohrt, Ph.D., FACSM, University of Colorado
Laura Kruskall, Ph.D., R.D., C.S.S.D., FACSM, University of Nevada Las Vegas
Ronald Maughan, Ph.D., FACSM, International Trustee, Loughborough University 
Karin Pfeiffer, Ph.D., FACSM, Michigan State University
Eric Rawson, Ph.D., FACSM, Bloomsburg University
Tracy Ray, M.D., FACSM, Duke University
Deborah Riebe, University of Rhode Island
Lauren Simon, M.D., FACSM, Loma Linda University
Maria Urso, Ph.D., FACSM, Presidential Appointee, Arteriocyte Medical Systems
Willem van Mechelen, M.D., Ph.D., FACSM, Vrije Universiteit

Featured Publication

Sudden death on the field is a growing concern in sport and physical activity. This groundbreaking text arms readers with the knowledge and skills they need…

» Read More