TACSM's Annual Meeting 2020

Texas Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine

Upcoming Events

TACSM's Annual Meeting 2020

  • Dates:
    Feb 20 - Feb 21, 2020
    Feb 21, 2020
  • Location: Waco, Texas, USA
  • Address: 100 Washington Avenue
2020 TACSM Annual Meeting
February 20-21
Waco Convention Center
100 Washington Avenue, Waco TX, 76701

UMHB College of Health Sciences Logo

University Conference Partner

About Us

Welcome to the Texas ACSM website!

The 2019 Texas ACSM annual conference will be held Thursday February 28th and Friday March 1st 2019 at Tarrant County College Trinity River Campus located at 300 Trinity Campus Circle in Fort Worth, Texas. We have both our clinical and science tracks again this year to provide more variety to the meeting. Our vendor booths will be open both days on the 4th floor. Please stop by and visit them early and stay late. Parking is free this year and there is a parking garage attached to the venue (with overflow close to the venue), so arrive early to get the best spots.

Thursday afternoon is packed with stimulating topics and dynamic speakers. We will start with a tutorial lecture by Mr. Francis Neric, ACSM Director of Certification, who will talk about updates to ACSM certifications and the career outlook for exercise physiology.  SRDA presentations will take on a new format this year with five minute presentation rounds and competition for additional monies to be given to first, second, and third place winners. Additionally, we have Dr. Kerri Winters-Stone from Oregon Health and Science University who will talk about prescribing exercise for cancer survivors. The science track will conclude Thursday with concurrent sessions from Dr. Jim Fluckey and a professional lecture by Dr. Barry Franklin from William Beaumont Hospital who will talk about the ten top behavior skills of highly successful people. Dr. Franklin will also be the keynote speaker for the Raven Lecture given Friday, March 1st at 1 PM.  

The clinical track presentations stand to be equally engaging and begin Thursday at 2:45 PM with Dr. Bert Vargas from UT Southwestern followed by Bobby Lee, PT from Texas Health Sports Medicine who will present about the utility of VOMS to identify deficits after concussion. Friday concludes the clinical track presentations with a professional roundtable presentation at 10:30 AM from several experts in the fields of medicine, athletic training, physical therapy, nutrition, and sports psychology.

Poster set-up begins at 4:00 PM Thursday with viewing and judging from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. The social starts at 6 PM and will not disappoint with finger foods and complimentary beer and wine on the main street patio of the gorgeous TCC campus. Please make sure to take your posters down this year at 7:30 and for those that are interested, there will be an informal meet and greet at the Flying Saucer Restaurant which is within walking distance from TCC in the heart of downtown Fort Worth!  

Friday starts bright and early with the TACSM Student Bowl X competition! We will have complimentary continental breakfast available as well. Tutorial lectures begin with our Honor Award recipient, Dr. Bill Kohl from UT Health Science Center at Houston. After a lunch from the famous Joe T Garcia’s in Fort Worth, the Gatorade Sports Science Institute Talk will be given by Dr. Nicholas Burd. Presentations will conclude with power packed, concurrent sessions by Dr. Shawn Arent from Rutgers University and Dr. Ben Levine from UT Southwestern. We will conclude with the awards ceremony at 3:50 as we close out the 2019 Annual Meeting.

Abstract and other meeting related deadlines as well as dates for registration have been posted so see the Texas ACSM website and download the meeting app. We look forward to seeing you all in the Spring!

Jenn Blevins-McNaughton
Texas ACSM President


Two Easy Ways to Join or Renew Your TACSM Dues-
1) Join when you join/renew your ACSM dues.  Simply select Texas as your regional chapter and pay the applicable fee.  
2) Join/renew online today.

New Students-
 $15 USD per year. If you join TACSM in conjunction with attending an Annual Meeting, then you can receive a $15 discount on your 1st year attendee registration.
Returning Students- $15 USD
Professional Members- $35 USD

As a member of TACSM you will have access to the following professional opportunities:

1) Twice-yearly lecture tours by well-known exercise science and sports medicine professionals. A speaker from outside Texas gives a lecture each fall, and one of our own accomplished scholars tours the state in the spring.

2) The TACSM Annual Scientific Meeting held in late February/early March during which:

    • Students have the opportunity to present their research in poster format (70-80 are presented each year).
    • Awards are given for the top three posters in the undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral categories.
    • Students can compete for the manuscript award. The top three or four awardees will present their work as a slide presentation.
    • Nationally recognized exercise science/sports medicine authorities present timely and scholarly information.
    • You will have the chance to meet fellow students from across the state, and also make important professional contacts with the leading exercise scientists and clinical professionals in Texas.
    • The Raven Lecture is given by a recognized leader in our field as the keynote address of the Annual Meeting.
    • Students have the opportunity to compete for funding to support their research through the Student Development Research Award.

Membership Data


Male - 50%
Female - 50%

Area of Interest
Basic and Applied Sciences - 26% 
Alliance Health Fitness - 40%
Medicine - 13%
Education & Allied Health - 16%
Other- 5%
Students- 60%
Professional:  Exercise Physiologist- 8%
Professional:  Other Basic/Applied Sciences- 5%
Allied Health & Fitness professionals- 5%
All Other Areas- 22%

Region of the State
DFW/North Texas - 34%
Houston/East Texas - 23%
Central Texas - 24%
San Antonio/South Texas - 10%
Panhandle/West Texas - 7% 
Out of State - 2%
Dr Scott Davis

Scott Davis, Ph.D.


Matt Brothers, Ph.D.


Lem Taylor, Ph.D.

Executive Director