Midwest Chapter


MWACSM is proud to present the following awards and competitions that recognize professional achievement throughout the region. 

President's Cup Poster Competition

A selected graduate student for each of the ACSM Regional Chapters will have the opportunity to win a $1200 travel allowance to attend the ACSM Annual Meeting. The top graduate presentation given at the regional MWACSM annual meeting will be awarded the President Cup to support their attendance at the national ACSM meeting and the opportunity to present for further acknowledgement and prizes.  Learn more. 

Congratulations to our 2018 MWACSM President's Cup representative:

  • President's Cup Awardee: Emily Werner of Michigan State

Congratulations to our 2017 MWACSM President's Cup representative:

  • President's Cup Awardee: Ashley Triplett of Michigan State


Outstanding Student Presentation Awards

Submission Deadline: You will be automatically entered into the contest upon abstract submission.

MWACSM has a number of awards to recognize the outstanding research conducted by our student members. 

Congratulations to our 2018 Outstanding Student Presentation Awardees:

  • Undergraduate Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Alyssa Guadagni
  • Undergraduate Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Anthony Kollasch & Cassie Neary
  • Master's Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Brandon Gibson
  • Master's Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Devon Hagerman
  • Doctoral Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Saira Talwar
  • Doctoral Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Maria Enid Santiago-Rodriguez

Congratulations to our 2017 Outstanding Student Presentation Awardees:

  • Undergraduate Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Taylor Taraski
  • Undergraduate Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Summer Besteman
  • Master's Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Ashley Troutman
  • Master's Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Victoria Warren
  • Doctoral Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Lydia Caldwell
  • Doctoral Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Kimberly Clevenger


    Annual Student Awards

    Submission Deadline: September 15, 2019

    MWACSM will give four annual awards to acknowledge students involved in excellent scholarly works and projects.

    Congratulations to our 2018 Annual Student Awards:

    • Undergraduate Student Scholar Award: Derrick Gray from IUPUI
    • Graduate or Professional Student Scholar Award: Kerri Vasold from Michigan State University
    • Graduate or Professional Student Research Study Project Award: Jeanette Ricci from Michigan State University


      Professional Awards

      Submission Deadline: September 15, 2019

      Congratulations to our 2018 Professional Awardees: 

      • Founder's Award: Bob Oppliger, Ph.D.

      Congratulations to our 2017 Professional Awardees:

      • Professional of the Year: Laura Richardson of University of Akron

      • Founder's Award: John Davis of Alma College



      Exercise is Medicine on Campus (EIM-OC) Award-existing program

      Submission Deadline: September 15, 2019

      • ActiveU Award ACSM and EIM on Campus conduct an ActiveU competition which recognizes the most creative and sustainable collegiate programs that utilizes the EIM on Campus principles of making physical activity an integral part of personal health care. This is an opportunity to give recognition to outstanding EIM on Campus programs within the Midwest region and allow these programs to showcase their accomplishments to other schools looking to start or improve their own EIM on Campus initiatives.
      • 2019- $300.00 awards (two awards available)

        View complete details and application information for the ActiveU Award. 
        *ActiveU award applications should be submitted electronically to Dr. Abby Peairs

      Congratulations to our 2018 ActiveU Awardees:

      • Active U Winner: Michigan State University
      • Active U Runner Up: Adrian College

      Congratulations to our 2017 ActiveU Awardees:

      • Active U Winner: Illinois State University
      • Active U Runner Up: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


      Exercise is Medicine on Campus (EIM-OC) Award-new program

      Submission Deadline: April 20, 2019

      Congratulations to our 2018 New Seed Program Awardees:

      • Hope College, Briar Cliff University, and John Carroll University

      Congratulations to our 2017 New Seed Program Awardees:

      • Alma College, University of Michigan, Baldwin Wallace University, and Valparaiso University.