New Investigator Awards

In This Section:

New Investigator Awards

Deadline: Feb 1, 2020, 12:00 a.m. ET

Amount: TBD

The New Investigator Awards recognize new investigators who have begun and are likely to continue making significant scientific contributions to knowledge in basic or clinical exercise science and sports medicine. Download the 2020 New Investigator Award application.

Award requirements include:

  1. Applicant must have been within six years of completing terminal research degree or within six years of completing medical residency, and cannot hold a level higher than assistant professor.

  2. Be principal author of a submitted and accepted free communication paper for presentation at the 2020 ACSM Annual Meeting, which excludes dissertation research.

  3. The applicant must be a current member of ACSM or one of its Chapters at the time of application and at the time award is presented.

  4. The New Investigator Awards can be rewarded only once to an individual.

Award criteria include the grants obtained, publication record, research independence, future potential, and the scientific merit, quality and originality of short research paper expanded from the abstract submitted and accepted for presentation at the ACSM Annual Meeting. (See attached descriptions of the above criteria.)

    Each award will provide complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting, complimentary accommodations for three nights (at the conference hotel), meals for four days (not to exceed $55/day), the lowest available advance round-trip airfare from your home city to San Francisco, CA. All recipients are expected to attend the ACSM Awards Banquet, Friday, May 29, 2020 to be recognized for receiving the award. Two complimentary banquet tickets will also be provided.


    NOTE: Please submit your complete application no later than February 1 even if you have not yet received an official abstract acceptance letter. Abstract acceptance will be verified internally at ACSM.

    You may contact the Education Department regarding this award at Tel: (317) 637-9200, ext. 117 or email questions to