2022 ACSM Annual Meeting & World Congresses

  • May 31 - June 4, 2022 | San Diego, California USA

Honor and Citation Awards

Our Prestigious Honorees

The Awards and Tributes Committee invite you to congratulate our distinguished award recipients. The Honor and Citation Awards are two of ACSM’s most prestigious awards.

AM22 Honor Award

The Honor Award of the American College of Sports Medicine is granted to an individual with a distinguished career of outstanding scientific and scholarly contributions to sports medicine and/or the exercise sciences. The contributions may be in the basic, applied, and/or clinical sciences; allied health and/or education.

Charlotte Tate photo

2020 Award Winner
Charlotte (Toby) Tate, Ph.D., FACSM

University of Illinois-Chicago
Chicago, Illinois


2021 Award Winner
Lyle J. Micheli, M.D., FACSM
Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School 
Boston, MA 


2022 Award Winner
W. Larry Kenney, Ph.D., FACSM

Pennsylvania State University 
University Park, PA 

AM22 Citation Award

The Citation Award of the American College of Sports Medicine is granted to an individual or group who has made significant and important contributions to sports medicine and/or the exercise sciences. These contributions may include, but are not limited to, research and scholarship; clinical care; and/or administrative or educational services in sports medicine or exercise science

2020 Award Winners

Rosemary Agostini photo

Rosemary Agostini, M.D., FACSM
Kaiser Permanente Washington
Seattle, Washington

Ulf Ekelund photo

Ulf Ekelund, Ph.D., FACSM
Norwegian School of Sport Science
Oslo, Norway

Mark Hutchinson

Mark R. Hutchinson, M.D., FACSM
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

Andrew Jones

Andrew M. Jones, Ph.D., FACSM
University of Exeter
Exeter, United Kingdom

William Kraemer photo

William J. Kraemer, Ph.D., FACSM
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

Elizabeth Joy photo

Elizabeth A. Joy, M.D., M.P.H., FACSM
Intermountain Healthcare
Salt Lake City, Utah

2021 Award Winners


Bo Fernhall, Ph.D., FACSM
University of Illinois 
Chicago, IL 


Jonathan N. Myers Ph.D., FACSM
VA Palo Alto Health Care System 
Palo Alto, CA 


Neville G. Owen, Ph.D.
Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute 
Melbourne, VI, Australia 


Stuart Phillips, Ph.D., FACSM
McMaster University 
Hamilton, ON, Canada 


Randall L. Wilber, Ph.D., FACSM
US Olympic Committee 
Colorado Springs, CO 

2022 Award Winners


Cindy J. Chang, M.D., FACSM
University of California-San Francisco 
San Francisco, CA 


Peter T. Katzmarzyk, Ph.D., FACSM
Pennington Biomedical Research Center 
Baton Rouge, LA 


Kathryn H. Schmitz, Ph.D., FACSM
Penn State Cancer Institute 
Hershey, PA 


Walter R. Thompson, Ph.D., FACSM
Georgia State University 
Atlanta, GA 

AM22 21 Sponsors


Technogym logo


Clinical Programming

World Congress on Exercise is Medicine

World Congress on the Basic Science of Exercise and Vascular Health