2022 Annual Meeting Highlights

2022 SEACSM Annual Meeting Highlights

The 2022 SEACSM Annual Meeting was February 17–19, 2022 at the Hyatt Regency Greenville in Greenville, SC. This was also our 50th Anniversary Annual Meeting celebration!

The abstracts from the 2022 Annual Meeting have been published in the International Journal of Exercise Science, Volume 16, Issue 1.

Thank you to all presenters, volunteers, and attendees who helped make our 50th annual meeting a great success!

Since this is our 50th Anniversary Annual Meeting we planned special sessions and events to recognize the Southeast ACSM members who were instrumental in starting our chapter and establishing the annual meeting. Here are a few highlights:

Featured Presenters

Keynote Address
"Physical Activity and Fitness Guidelines: Changes Over the Past 50 Years"
Edward Howley, FACSM. University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN.

Andrew Kozar ACSM Presidential Address

"A Personal History of Southeast ACSM"
Bruce Gladden, FACSM. Auburn University, Auburn, AL.

Clinical Crossover Lecture
"Physical Activity and Health: From Integrated Physiology to Public Health: Challenges, Caveats, and Unanswered Questions"
William Kraus, FACSM. Duke University, Durham, NC.

Basic Science Lecture
"Circadian Rhythms and Clocks: Exercise Performance and Adaptations"
Karyn Esser, FACSM. University of Florida, Gainesville, FL.

Henry J. Montoye Award Lecture

"Paying It Forward: The Lifeblood of Science"
Laurie Wideman, FACSM. University of North Carolina Greensboro, Greensboro, NC.

SEACSM Luncheon Lecture
"SEACSM Proud: History of ACSM Members Leading the Way"
Scott Powers, FACSM. Stetson University, DeLand, FL.

Award Winners

Rapid Research Race
1st Place – Oluwagbemiga “Gbenga” DadeMatthews, Auburn University
2nd Place – David Hooper, Jacksonville University
3rd Place – Tamerah Hunt, Georgia Southern University

Sports Medicine Physician Track Best Case Presentation

William Hollabaugh, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Student Poster Awards – Doctoral

1st Place – Matthew Martenson, Florida State University, SEACSM Representative in the 2022 ACSM Presidential Cup
2nd Place – Patricia Pagan Lassalle, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
3rd Place – Holly Clarke, Florida State University

Student Poster Awards – Master’s
1st Place – Louisa Tichy, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
2nd Place – Alex Pomeroy, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
3rd Place – Monica Dunn, East Carolina University

Student Poster Awards – Undergraduate
1st Place – Miranda Traylor, University of South Alabama
2nd Place – Maria Damewood, Roanoke College
3rd Place – Ashleigh Davis, Samford University

Winning Student Bowl Team
Sabina Holz, Pierre-Anne Laird, Noah Stallard, Virginia Tech University, SEACSM representative in the 2022 ACSM Student Bowl

SEACSM Service Award
Lynn Panton, FACSM, Florida State University

Download the complete 2022 Annual Meeting Program including information about the meeting, special events, invited speakers, session information, and abstracts.