Midwest Chapter


MWACSM is proud to present the following awards and competitions that recognize professional achievement throughout the region. 

President's Cup Poster Competition

Submission Deadline: Our top student awardee will receive the President Cup

A selected graduate student for each of the ACSM Regional Chapters will have the opportunity to win a $1200 travel allowance to attend the ACSM Annual Meeting. The top graduate presentation given at the regional MWACSM annual meeting will be awarded the President Cup to support their attendance at the national ACSM meeting and the opportunity to present for further acknowledgement and prizes.  Learn more.

Congratulations to our 2019 MWACSM President's Cup representative:

  • President's Cup Awardee: Alyssa Pollard McGrandy from Wayne State University


Outstanding Student Presentation Awards

Submission Deadline: You will be automatically entered into the contest upon abstract submission.

MWACSM has a number of awards to recognize the outstanding research conducted by our student members. 

Congratulations to our 2019 Outstanding Student Presentation Awardees:

  • Undergraduate Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Emily Makowski from Michigan State University
  • Undergraduate Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Sofia Medina from University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Master's Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Edward Pelka from Miami University
  • Master's Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Emily Erb from Kent State
  • Doctoral Outstanding Poster Presentation Awardee: Saira Talwar from Milwaukee 
  • Doctoral Outstanding Slide Presentation Awardee: Joseph Visker from Michigan State University


    Annual Student Awards

    Submission Deadline: September 15

    MWACSM will give four annual awards to acknowledge students involved in excellent scholarly works and projects.


    Congratulations to our 2019 Annual Student Awards:

    • Undergraduate Student Scholar Award: Abby Dettmer from Valparaiso University
    • Graduate or Professional Student Scholar Award: Slav Victorovich Dvoretskiy from Illinois University
    • Undergraduate Student Research Study Project Award: Monroe Molesky, Alma College
    • Graduate or Professional Student Research Study Project Award: Jeanette Ricci from Michigan State University


      Professional Awards

      Submission Deadline: September 15


      Congratulations to our 2019 Professional Awardees:

      • Professional of the Year: Sandy Knecht, MS, RCEP of Cincinnati Children's Hospital, OH

      • Founder's Award: Juliane Wallace, Ph.D. of Southern Illinois University Carbondale


      Exercise is Medicine on Campus (EIM-OC) Award-existing program

      Submission Deadline: September 15

      • ActiveU Award ACSM and EIM on Campus conduct an ActiveU competition which recognizes the most creative and sustainable collegiate programs that utilizes the EIM on Campus principles of making physical activity an integral part of personal health care. This is an opportunity to give recognition to outstanding EIM on Campus programs within the Midwest region and allow these programs to showcase their accomplishments to other schools looking to start or improve their own EIM on Campus initiatives.
      • 2019- $300.00 awards (two awards available) View complete details and application information for the ActiveU Award. 
        *ActiveU award applications should be submitted electronically to the EIM-OC Committee Chairperson, Dr. Keri Denay


      Congratulations to our 2019 ActiveU Awardees:

      • Active U Winner (Existing Program): Michigan State University


      Exercise is Medicine on Campus (EIM-OC) Award-new program

      Submission Deadline: September 15


      Congratulations to our 2019 New Seed Program Awardees:

      • Active U Winner (Seed Program): Michigan Tech University