SEACSM Leadership & Diversity Training Program

SEACSM Leadership and Diversity Training Program (LDTP)


Leadership & Diversity Training Program

The SEACSM Leadership and Diversity Training Program (LDTP) encourages student members from minority groups underrepresented in the sciences to participate in activities that will lead to successful mentored experiences at the Annual Meeting, enhanced pathways to degree completion and career opportunities, and increased SEACSM and ACSM service.

LDTP recipients will be matched with a professional SEACSM member who will assist the student with setting goals, preparing for attending the Annual Meeting, providing active mentorship at the meeting to connect the student with potential academic, research, and service opportunities, and guide the student through next steps to achieve their educational/professional goals after the meeting. LDTP award winners receive a travel stipend to participate in the Annual Meeting.

Students in the LDTP program have gone on to be successful graduate students, professionals, and leaders. Some have become LDTP mentors themselves!

The application for the 2023 LDTP program will be available here in October 2022.

The 2022 LDTP students and mentors were:

Sydney Jones, Tuskegee University
David Diaz, Florida Atlantic University
Alexis Dick, University of South Carolina Aiken
Kayla Brow, North Carolina A&T State University

TJ Exford, North Carolina A&T State University
Jonathon Ruiz-Ramie, Augusta University
Alicia Bryan, Columbus State University
Karissa Peyer, University of Tennessee Chattanooga

SEACSM-Chapter-logo (002)