Paper of the Year Awards

ACSM Paper of the Year Awards

The ACSM Publications Committee established an annual Paper of the Year award in 2020 for each of ACSM’s journals to recognize the demonstrated excellence in scientific and scholarly publications. The Paper of the Year is selected by each journal’s editorial board based on the criteria of significance and impact of the article. ACSM extends congratulations to each of the author groups.

2022 Winners

ACSM’s Health & Fitness Journal® | May/June 2022

Title: "Heads-up: Effective Strategies for Promoting Mental Health Literacy in Youth Fitness Programs"
Authors: Avery D. Faigenbaum, Tamara Rial Rebullido, Leonard Zaichkowsky
Read Article

Current Sports Medicine Reports | August 2022

Title: "Aerobic or Muscle-Strengthening Physical Activity: Which Is Better for Health?"
Authors: Angelique G. Brellenthin, Jason A. Bennie, Duck-chul Lee
Read Article

Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews | January 2022

Title: "Exercise Snacks: A Novel Strategy to Improve Cardiometabolic Health”
Authors: Hashim Islam, Martin J. Gibala, Jonathan P. Little
Read Article

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise® | December 2022

Title: "The Role of Muscle Glycogen Content and Localization in High-Intensity Exercise Performance: A Placebo-Controlled Trial"
Authors: Jeppe F. Vigh-Larsen, Niels Ørtenblad, Joachim Nielsen, Ole Emil Andersen, Kristian Overgaard, Magni Mohr
Read Article

Translational Journal of the American College of Sports Medicine | Winter 2022

Title: "Determinants of Dropout from and Variation in Adherence to an Exercise Intervention: The STRRIDE Randomized Trials"
Authors: Katherine A. Collins, Kim M. Huffman, Ruth Q. Wolever, Patrick J. Smith, Ilene C. Siegler, Leanna M. Ross, Elizabeth R. Hauser, Rong Jiang, John M. Jakicic, Paul T. Costa, William E. Kraus
Read Article

2022 paper of the year authors