Three Student Members Honored with Outgoing Editor-in-Chief Scholarship

In This Section:

Three Student Members Honored with Outgoing Editor-in-Chief Scholarship

May 21, 2021
2021 Editor-in-Chief Scholarship WinnersACSM continues its outgoing editor-in-chief (EIC) recognition scholarship program by awarding $1,000 in honor of L. Bruce Gladden, Ph.D., FACSM. Dr. Gladden is completing his second term as EIC of Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise® (MSSE), with his terms spanning from 2014-2021.

This scholarship program aims to recognize and continue the outstanding legacy of EICs for ACSM’s official journals by investing in the future of the field. Dr. Gladden, who also is the current ACSM president elect, opted to distribute the scholarship fund among three ACSM student members (pictured top to bottom):
  • Dulce Hiraci Gomez
  • Paulo H.C. Mesquita
  • Morgan Smith
Dr. Gladden shared about the three students, “Dulce, Paulo and Morgan are all Ph.D. students in the School of Kinesiology at Auburn University. They are excellent professionals in training, not only in the classroom but in the research laboratory as well. Dulce is a participant in ACSM’s Leadership and Diversity Training Program.”

The EIC recognition scholarship program began in 2013 with outgoing EIC Andrew J. Young, Ph.D., FACSM (MSSE) and the late Priscilla M. Clarkson, Ph.D., FACSM (Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews).

With five leading scholarly journals, ACSM offers access to cutting-edge research, translational science, relevant clinical reports and evidence-informed practical content for researchers, students, clinicians, those working to improve health outcomes and health and fitness professionals.